Located in Cairo, Egypt, the Egyptian Antiquities Museum can be found at Tahrir square, and its current building was constructed in 1897 during the reign of Khedive Abbass Helmi II. It was originally located in Boulak but moved to Giza Palace of ‘Ismail Pasha’ in 1891 until finding it’s current home and opening in 1902. With 107 halls, the museum is the showcase of thousands of Egyptian treasures, mummies, jewellery, small statues, and of course, the home of Tutankhamen and his treasures. The first floor of the museum holds the large statues that were recovered from the various different tombs throughout Giza and the Valley of the Kings, including a piece of the braided beard from the Sphinx.
The museum has a photography section and a large library that specialises in anything that has to do with old Egyptian civilisation in every aspect, from history to military and everything in between. The library at the museum contains close to 42,500 books, magazines and other media regarding the Egyptian civilization, and reading inside the library is permitted for a select group of researchers and scholars. It is considered one of the largest specialty libraries in the world today.
With over a million and a half tourists each year and close to half a million residents visiting the museum, it is one of the busiest places in Cairo. There are eight sections in which the 107 halls have been divided, with section number one being the treasures of Tutankhamen. The second section of the museum houses antiquities from the pre-dynastic and Old Kingdom eras. Section three is the intermediate and Middle Kingdom items, section four the Modern Kingdom, and section five housing items from the late, Greek, and Roman periods. Sections six and seven house coins, papyrus, sarcophagi, and scarabs respectively, with the newest section housing the royal mummies with eleven kings and queens of Ancient Egypt.